Discover Easter In Daylesford 2020

Easter In Daylesford 2020

It’s been somewhat a challenging few weeks for many and Easter is inevitably going to be a strange one for many of us here in Daylesford. For the best part of the Easter weekend we often take advantage of our extended leave from work, we getaway and enjoy a weekend stay in many of the beautiful guest houses, hotels and accommodation our region has to offer. 

It’s usually the perfect opportunity to browse the markets, take a heritage train ride, meander up and down Vincent St and Howe St exploring the shops, boutiques and cafes, restaurants and pubs.

However with social distancing measures in place and many businesses forced to close, it begs the question… What is there to do this Easter 2020 in Daylesford?

The good news! It’s not all doom and gloom. Outdoor activities are of course restricted, but with the weather forecast a top of 14°C and a low of 5°C over the Easter weekend, let’s be realistic, its best to stay home and crank up the heating or light the wood fire and with a nice bottle from one of your favourite local wineries, breweries and distilleries.

Passing Clouds – www.passingclouds.com.au / 03 5348 5550

Daylesford Wine Tours – www.daylesfordwinetours.com / 03 5348 1823

Herbal Lore – www.herballoreliqueurs.com / 03 5348 1920

Daylesford Cider – www.daylesfordcider.com.au / 03 5348 2275

Wine And The Country – www.wineandthecountry.com.au / 03 5348 3756

Captains Creek Organic Wines – www.captainscreek.com / 03 5348 7408

Cellarbrations at Foxxy’s Daylesford –  www.cellarbrations.com.au / 04 5348 3577

Daylesford Hotel – www.daylesfordhotel.com.au / 03 5348 2335

During this time it’s important to keep an open mind and create a warm, positive and happy space for your household. With this in mind we have put together some local tips for creating an easy and stress free Easter…

Plan your Easter shopping – don’t wait until the night before to get your Easter staples, lamb, fish, vegetables, chocolate and gifts. Many small local businesses are still open for online orders offering local delivery straight to your door. If you do go to the supermarket, butcher or baker, be sure to practice good social distancing and read the signs at these places… Remember, if someone behind you isn’t practicing good social distancing… a little fart goes a long way.

Be adventurous with your food – If you can’t get hold of what you’d normally prepare for food and drink over Easter, then try something new! Plan and buy lighter meals in advance and consider purchasing larger meals from our restaurants, pubs, stores and cafes, many are providing takeaway options and delivery.

Sault – www.sault.com.au / 03 5348 6555

The Surly Goat – www.thesurleygoat.com.au / 03 5348 4628

Harry’s Eatery – www.harryseatery.com.au / 03 5348 2297

The Farmers Arms Daylesford – www.thefarmersarms.com.au / 03 5348 2091

Hotel Frangos – www.hotelfrangos.com.au / 03 5348 2363

Beppe – www.beppe.com.au / 03 5312 2778

Dos Deli – www.dosdeli.com.au / 03 5348 3756

Bistro Terroir – www.bistroterroir.com.au / 0499  022 212

Rubens – www.rubensrestaurant.com.au / 03 5348 2843

As with all businesses over public holidays, their opening hours may vary, so head on over to their websites and plan your food delivery/pickup in advance.

Be Compassionate and kind – Many vulnerable people will be alone, maybe not able to get out so if you do order food, consider purchasing an extra meal and paying it forward to someone in need this Easter. After all, isn’t that what it’s all about?

If you’re feeling a little lonely this Easter, there is help available. Lifeline is urging those who are alone who feel isolated and who may not have a support network, to reach out. Lifeline is available 24/7 on 13 11 14 or online at www.lifeline.org.au. 

Please feel free to share any recipes or any other businesses that offer local delivery/pickup. We’re also keen to hear about what activities, ideas you might have to get us all through this long weekend in the comments below.

Happy Easter Hepburn Shire!

Join our community